Rally Software Founder Named Business Person of the Year

  • Share:
March 05, 2014

Ryan Martens to highlight list of industry executives, community leaders, and Boulder Olympians to be recognized at Celebration of Leadership on April 2

BOULDER - March 5, 2014 – Boulder has no shortage of inspiring leaders – and several will be honored during the Celebration of Leadership, a special event at the Boulder Theater on April 2. Sochi Olympians Lyman Currier and Alex Diebold from Boulder will join more than 300 executives and community leaders at the Boulder Chamber’s largest fundraiser of the year to support leadership development and local business success.

The Celebration of Leadership includes opportunities to connect with top business leaders as well as business awards, a celebrity auction, and musical and dance performances as part of Boulder Arts Week -- further evidence of the growing linkage between Boulder’s innovation economy and the arts.

The Boulder Chamber will recognize several local executives during this April 2 event:

Ryan Martens, Rally Software’s founder and Chief Technology Officer, will receive the 2014 Business Person of the Year award for developing Agile software that accelerates the pace of innovation and for becoming the first socially-conscious “B Corp” to go public in the nation. Since Marten founded the organization more than a decade ago it has grown into one of Boulder’s major employers and recently donated 1% of its founding equity, currently worth more than $500,000, to the Community Foundation of Boulder County.

Dave and Dee Hight of McGuckin Hardware will receive a lifetime achievement award called the Franny Reich Business Hero Award. After becoming partners in the organization more than 50 years ago they grew the iconic business into a 60,000 square foot store with more than 200,000 items and employing about 250 people. In an era dominated by national big box retailers, McGuckin Hardware remains a local favorite and continues to thrive.

The Industry Leadership Award will be presented to eight leading breweries and related organizations whose “innovations and accomplishments have transformed an industry.” CEOs and founders of Avery Brewing, Boulder Beer, Left Hand Brewing, Oskar Blues Brewery, Twisted Pine Brewing, Upslope Brewing, Mountain Sun, and the nonprofit Brewers Association will be recognized for unprecedented industry growth over the last few years.

Nick and Helen Forster of eTown will receive the Community Leadership Award to recognize significant contributions “to advance the arts, environment, or social sustainability values while achieving business success.” The Forsters founded eTown more than twenty years ago and have since grown its celebration of music, ideas and community into eTown Hall broadcasts than span more than 300 radio stations across the U.S. and beyond.

Ro Medina of the University of Colorado’s Career Services will receive the Chamber Champions award for her leadership in developing Bolder Young Professionals into rising prominence within the business community and for advancing professional development in this important group.

The Celebration of Leadership begins April 2 at 5pm at the Boulder Theater and includes an After Glow of Boulder Arts Week performances. 

Scroll to Top